top of page

Macedonian Assembly constituted, new speaker elected

Macedonian Assembly

Skopje, May 28 — In its constituent session today, the Macedonian Assembly verified the mandates of 118 of the 120 members of the Assembly by adopting the report of the Verification Commission.

Meanwhile, the mandates of the remaining two deputies will be further verified. This comes after Biljal Kasami resigned from his seat to remain mayor of Tetovo. Another MP is expected after the appeal procedure filed by the DUI-led coalition "European Front" is completed.

The new President of the Macedonian Assembly is Afrim Gashi from the ‘Vredi’ (‘It’s worth it’) coalition, who was elected with 76 votes in favor and 6 against.

Afrim Gashi

The political party VMRO-DPMNE has a majority in the Assembly and has announced a coalition government with 'Vredi' and the movement ZNAM ('For Our Macedonia').

President Gordana Siljanovska Davkova should now give VMRO-DPMNE President Hristijan Mickoski the mandate to form a government, and the country is expected to have a new government by June 20.



By booking one of the tours from our affiliate partners, you are directly supporting our website.

bottom of page