top of page

New technical government with first ethnic Albanian PM elected in Macedonia

The new technical government
Photo: Assembly of North Macedonia

Skopje, January 28 — The Macedonian Assembly today elected the new technical government, which will have a mandate of 100 days, after a debate that lasted almost two hours. The mandate of the government is to organize fair presidential and parliamentary elections to be held on April 24 and May 8.

Talat Xhaferi was elected Prime Minister of the new technical government. Newly appointed to the government were Pance Toshkovski as Minister of Internal Affairs, Gjoko Velkovski as Minister of Labor and Social Policy and Fatmir Bitikji, Slavica Grkovska and Bojan Maricikj as ministers without portfolio.

The Assembly also elected the new additional deputy ministers today. Mitko Bojmacaliev was elected Additional Deputy Minister of internal affairs, and Jovanka Trenchevska was appointed Additional Deputy Minister at the Ministry of Labor and Social Policy.

In the meantime, Elena Petrova is appointed as Additional Deputy Minister at the Ministry of Finance, Stefan Andonovski as Additional Deputy Minister at the Ministry of Information Society and Administration and Cvetan Tripunovski as Additional Deputy Minister of Agriculture.


This is the third consecutive technical government under the Przhino Agreement. The Prime Minister of the technical government in 2016 was Emil Dimitriev, while in 2020 it was Oliver Spasovski.



By booking one of the tours from our affiliate partners, you are directly supporting our website.

bottom of page